Weather Forecast


Perham sweeps triangular with SC-M and Litchfield

Perham's Colton Kostynick tries to pin down Sauk Centre/Melrose's Caleb Cheadle during their match at 285. Kostynick earned the 8-1 decision win over Cheadle. Submitted photo

The Perham wrestling team was challenged in one of its two duals during the Sauk Centre/Melrose Triangular on Jan. 23 in Melrose, Minn.

The Yellowjackets breezed to a 78-0 victory over Sauk Centre/Melrose, before facing a rematch with Litchfield. The Yellowjackets defeated Litchfield earlier in the season at the Rick Lee Duals and disposed of them again, 45-25, completing the season sweep.

Wyatt Guck

The Yellowjackets rolled in the matches they did wrestle against Sauk Centre/Melrose when they picked up the 78 point win. The Yellowjackets picked up eight wins by forfeit and mashed their opponents to six victories, five of them giving Perham bonus points.

Gabe Bellefeuille and Colton Kostynick recorded decision wins, while Dylan Fudge, Wyatt Guck, Dawson Kellogg and Zach Peterson won by fall against Sauk Centre-Melrose.

It was a little tougher for the Yellowjackets in their dual with Litchfield. The Yellowjackets earned a 45-25 win, securing their 22nd dual meet win of the season.

Ty Moser

Owen Werner and Dylan Johnson started strong at 106 and 113. Werner earned an 8-4 decision, while Johnson captured a fall win. Bellefeuille followed with a forfeit win. Litchfield answered with three straight wins, before Dylan Fudge earned a fall win. Litchfield answered back with an overtime win and a major decision. Dawson Kellogg countered with a fall win, while Zach Peterson won by forfeit. Ty Moser and Jose Lopez earned fall wins, securing the match for the Yellowjackets.

It was the 22nd win of the season for the Yellowjackets against just one defeat. The Yellowjackets return to the mat on Thursday, Jan. 25 with a dual against Ottertail Central in Henning.

Perham 45, Litchfield 25

106: Owen Werner (PER) def. Eddie Simes (LF) (Dec. 8-4)

113: Dylan Johnson (PER) def. Aryan Payne (LF) (Fall 2:49)

120: Gabe Bellefeuille (PER) wins by forfeit

126: Jerry Simes (LF) def. Ezekiel Pechtel (PER) (Fall 1:03)

132: Afton Kaping (LF) def. Leighton Rach (PER) (Dec. 9-3)

138: Ezra Kaping (LF) def. Jack Fudge (PER) (Dec. 4-2 OT)

145: Dylan Fudge (PER) def. Andrew Loch (LF) (Fall :25)

152: Bryce Penk (LF) def. Matthew Bush (PER) (Dec. 6-4 OT)

160: Logan Nelson (LF) def. Wyatt Guck (PER) (Maj. Dec. 16-3)

170: Dawson Kellogg (PER) def. Dylan Madsen (LF) (Fall 1:35)

182: Zach Peterson (PER) wins by forfeit

195: Ty Moser (PER) def. Kal Jackman (LF) (Fall 1:18)

220: Jose Lopez (PER) def. Sam Mohr (LF) (Fall 3:27)

285: Chase Liestman (LF) def. Colton Kostynick (PER) (Fall :23)

Perham 78, Sauk Centre/Melrose 0

106: Owen Werner (PER) wins by forfeit

113: Dylan Johnson (PER) wins by forfeit

120: Gabe Bellefeuille (PER) def. Lazaro Garcia (SCM) (Dec. 7-1)

126: Gareth Covington (PER) wins by forfeit

132: Leighton Rach (PER) wins by forfeit

138: Jack Fudge (PER) wins by forfeit

145: Dylan Fudge (PER) def. Luke Glasener (SCM) (Fall 1:42)

152: Matthew Bush (PER) wins by forfeit

160: Wyatt Guck (PER) def. Karter Wensman (SCM) (Fall 4:56)

170: Dawson Kellogg (PER) def. Moises Romero (SCM (Fall 1:23)

182: Zach Peterson (PER) def. Brayan Raya (SCM) (Fall 2:44)

195: Ty Moser (PER) wins by forfeit

220: Jose Lopez (PER) wins by forfeit

285: Colton Kostynick (PER) def. Caleb Cheadle (SCM) (Dec. 8-1)

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223