Weather Forecast


Perham sends seven to 8AA Individual finals

Owen Werner, Leighton Rach, Jack Fudge, Matthew Bush, Dawson Kellogg, Zach Peterson and Ty Moser will wrestle for a Section 8AA Individual Championship after a strong showing in day one of the championships in Hawley on Feb. 23.

It was a strong opening day for the Yellowjackets, every wrestler is still alive in the tournament, which continues with wrestlebacks at 11 a.m. in Hawley.

Werner opened with a quarterfinal win over Lucas Kritzeck by fall at 47 seconds in his opening match at 106. He followed with a 9-0 major decision win over Cody Wienen. Warner will wrestle Lazaro Garcia in the finals.

Rach started fast with a fall victory at 1:53 against Riley Hoskins at 132. Rach followed with a major decision victory over Payton Jackson, 15-5. Rach will take on Jake Davis in the finals.

Fudge is into the finals at 138, he started with a fall win over Joe Klein at 46 seconds. He followed with a 9-8 decision win over Austin Radunz. Fudge will do battle with Fabyon Greer in the finals.

Bush is into the finals at 152. He started the day with a win over Eli Bessman. He put Bessman on his back at 3:32. He followed with a major decision victory over Peter Koering, 12-4. Bush will face Austin Baker in the finals.

Kellogg will square off with Cody Dravis in the finals at 170. Kellogg started with a fall win over Hunter Fischer at 44 seconds in the quarterfinal. He advanced with a 3-1 decision win over Isaiah Thompson in the finals.

Peterson will face Jacob Arends in the finals at 182 after winning a pair of matches on day one. Peterson defeated Kevin Jensen by fall in 37 seconds in the quarterfinals. He followed with a fall at 1:31 against Jack Hensel.

A pair of fall wins has Moser in the finals at 195. He defeated TJ Hines at 1:45 in the quarterfinals and followed with a fall win over Jordan Skadsem at 1:17. Moser will square off with Brenan Peralta in the finals.

Dylan Johnson will compete in the wrestlebacks at 113. He opened with a fall win over Evan Koering at 3:33. However, he was defeated by Brody Ullyott by an 8-3 decision.

Gabe Bellefeuille is alive in the wrestlebacks at 120. He opened with a tech fall over Brandon Zuniga, 17-2. He suffered a defeated to Blake Weber in overtime, 6-4, in the semifinals.

Gareth Covington opened with a major decision win at 126 when he defeated Kobe Burton by a 14-3 major decision. Covington was defeated by Jack Fuchs by fall at one minute in the quarters. He earned a consolation round win over Ben Millard by an 11-3 major decision.

Dylan Fudge will wrestle in the consolation round at 145. He opened with a fall win at 1:17 over Hunter Magnusson, but was defeated by Brandon Tomala 10-9 in the semifinals.

Wyatt Guck is in the wrestlebacks at 160. He was defeated by a Karter Wensmann in a close match in the quarterfinals, falling 2-1, in his lone match of the day.

Jose Lopez is in the wrestlebacks after falling in the quarterfinals to John Urseth at 220. He was defeated by decision 5-3.

Colton Kostynick opened with a fall win over Michael Friendshuh at 1:19 in the first round. Kostynick was edged out by decision by Connor Swanson, 6-0, at 285.

The second day of the tournament begins at 11 a.m. with the wrestlebacks at Hawley High School on Feb. 24. The parade of champions begins at 2 p.m., with the championship matches to follow.

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223