Weather Forecast


Yellowjackets to wrestle for third

Perham's Ty Moser looks up at the Yellowjacket faithful after securing a 3-1 victory over Foley's Saylor Schmidt, giving Perham the Class AA quarterfinal round victory over Foley. Jason Groth/FOCUS1 / 2
Perham's Zach Peterson works for the pin against Foley's Max Lefebvre at 182. Peterson secured the pin, helping Perham get the match win. Jason Groth/FOCUS2 / 2

Perham junior Ty Moser secured Perham’s quarterfinal round victory when he defeated the state’s top-ranked wrestler at 195 pounds with a 3-1 decision, giving Perham a 31-25 victory over the Foley Falcons.

The junior came in determined against Saylor Schmidt. Schmidt entered the contest with an undefeated record and hadn’t lost a match since last year’s Class AA Championships. However, Moser was undeterred against the senior, snapping Perham’s two-year skid against the Falcons and their three year quarterfinal round losing streak.

Perham's Ty Moser drives Saylor Schmidt to the mat at 195.

Moser gained a late takedown in the third period, giving himself a 3-1 lead on Schmidt. Schmidt tried to get back into the match, but Moser was able to keep Schmidt down. Moser flexed his muscles and gave a scream to the Yellowjacket faithful after the match, securing the win for the Yellowjackets.

The opening round match was full of big moments for both teams. Owen Werner started with a 10-2 major decision win over Levi Jacobson. Foley followed with three straight wins from Nathan Garceau, Logan Thorsten and Cameron Kowitz.

Perham responded with three straight wins. Leighton Rach earned a 5-0 decision win at 132. Jack Fudge followed with a 3-2 decision win over John Dierkes. Dylan Fudge made quick work of Matt Dierkes by fall at 45 seconds.

Wyatt Guck avoided a pin and turned the momentum for Perham at 160. He was able to get a 5-4 decision on Connor Thorsten at 160. Dawson Kellogg followed with a 4-1 decision. Zach Peterson followed with six key points. He was able to get a fall win on Max Lefebvre in 59 seconds, setting up the determining match at 195. Moser delivered his clinching performance before Foley closed out with two wins at 220 and 285.

Perham's Dawson Kellogg locks in working for a pin.

The Yellowjackets were defeated in the Class AA semifinals by Kasson-Mantorville 48-10. Dylan Fudge, Peterson and Moser picked up wins in the match against the state’s top-ranked team in Class AA. Fudge earned a major decision win 17-7, while Peterson picked up an 8-4 decision and Moser was victorious by a 7-4 decision.

The Yellowjackets will wrestle for third place when they take on Scott West, who was defeated by Fairmont in the semifinals. The teams will square off at 5 p.m.

Check back for more updates from the Class AA Wrestling Championships.

Kasson Mantorville 48, Perham 10

106: Logan Vaughan (KM) def. Blaze Brady (PER) (Tech Fall 16-1)

113: Jared Johnson (KM) def. Dylan Johnson (PER) (Maj. Dec. 11-2)

120: Robby Horsman (KM) def. Gareth Covington (PER) (Tech Fall 17-2)

126: Matthew Harfmann (KM) def. Gabe Bellefeuille (PER) (Dec. 8-2)

132:Tanner Paulson (KM) def. Leighton Rach (PER) (Dec. 10-3)

138: Bennett Berge (KM) def. Andy Newville (PER) (Fall :52)

145: Dylan Fudge (PER) def. Dylan Baker (KM) (Maj. Dec. 17-7)

152: Nic VanOort (KM) def. Noah Rooney (PER) (Maj. Dec. 13-0)

160: Dalton Andrist (KM) def. Wyatt Guck (PER) (Dec. 9-5)

170: Patrick Kennedy (KM) def. Brian Ramos (PER) (Tech Fall 17-2)

182: Zach Peterson (PER) def. Ethan Shea (KM) (Dec. 8-4)

195: Ty Moser (PER) def. Jim Paulson (KM) (Dec. 7-4)

220: Garsen Schorr (KM) def. Jose Lopez (PER) (Fall :37)

285: Brett Paulson (KM) def. Colton Kostynick (PER) (Maj. Dec. 9-1)

Perham 31, Foley 25

106: Owen Werner (PER) def. Levi Jacobson (FOL) (Maj. Dec. 10-2)

113: Nathan Garceau (FOL) def. Dylan Johnson (PER) (Dec. 6-3)

120: Logan Thorsten (FOL) def. Gabe Bellefeuille (PER) (Dec. 4-0)

126: Cameron Kowitz (FOL) def. Gareth Covington (PER) (Fall 1:34)

132: Leighton Rach (PER) def. Michael Rothfork (FOL) (Dec. 5-0)

138: Jack Fudge (PER) def. John Dierkes (FOL) (Dec. 3-2)

145: Dylan Fudge (PER) def. Matt Dierkes (FOL) (Fall :45)

152: Mitch Rothfork (FOL) def. Matthew Bush (PER) (Maj. Dec. 15-2)

160: Wyatt Guck (PER) def. Connor Thorsten (FOL) (Dec. 5-4)

170: Dawson Kellogg (PER) def. Justin Henry (FOL) (Dec. 4-1)

182: Zach Peterson (PER) def. Max Lefebvre (FOL) (Fall :59)

195: Ty Moser (PER) def. Saylor Schmidt (FOL) (Dec. 3-1)

220: Carter Svihla (FOL) def. Jose Lopez (PER) (Dec. 6-5)

285: Mittch Trigg (FOL) def. Rowdie Lindquist (PER) (Fall :59)

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223